Formula One | Austrian Grand Prix | Race Preview & Betting Tips

Social Sharing: 

Following nine years where the Austrian Grand Prix wasn’t held, since that time (2014), Mercedes have absolutely dominated, with Lewis Hamilton winning the race last year and old foe – and then team-mate Nico Rosberg – triumphing in the two previous years. We’re TOP PRICE guaranteed on Hamilton, so no pressure, Lewis!

Grand Prix Betting



Spielberg, Austia | Sunday 9th June

Incidentally, seven of the last eight winners have been either British or German, with the last non-Brit or German winning, being Mika Hakkinen - who, of course, is an ambassador for our friends over at Unibet – in 2000 when the venue was the A1-Ring.

Daniel Ricciardo comes into this one in buoyant mood after his victory in Azerbaijan last time out and with it being the Red Bull Ring, it could well be written in the stars that a Red Bull driver could triumph in Austria.

Aside from Ricciardo winning in Baku, there was also controversy with Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel, and those with a good memory may well remember that this was the location last year when Hamilton and Mercedes team-mate Rosberg made contact at turn two in the final lap of that dramatic race.

But after the shenanigans last time out a couple of weeks ago, it will be interesting to see if Hamilton seeks revenge for the ramming from Vettel in Azerbaijan. There’ll surely be more drama.

Hamilton has three podium finishes in the Austrian Grand Prix and having won the last time he was here, he’ll be hopeful of doing the same this time around. 

Keeping Track...

We’ve touched on the track already, and bearing in mind it’s known as the Red Bull Ring, surely there’s pressure on Max Verstappen and Ricciardo (both Red Bull drivers, of course) to come out on top.

Michael Schumacher holds the record for the fastest lap back in 2003 for the ten-turn track, which is based in the city of Spielberg.

Despite it claiming to have ten turns, this track is actually quite a simple one and it’s a very short lap time average.

Length: 2.688 miles
Lap Record: Michael Schumacher, 2003 – 1.08.337
Turns: 10

The Previous Winners...

2016: Lewis Hamilton
2015: Nico Rosberg
2014: Nico Rosberg
2003: Michael Schumacher
2002: Michael Schumacher
2001: David Coulthard
2000: Mika Hakkinen
1999: Eddie Irvine 

What We Sayin’?...

McLaren have boosted their engines since Azerbaijan, which will give them more power and hopefully for them, more reliability. Their two drivers finished in 7th and 9th in FP1, which is pretty decent for them. However, it’s not about who’ll come anywhere else other than top of the podium and we fancy Hamilton for it.

He’ll have the determination to get one over on Vettel this time around and gain more points on the board, so we’re backing the Brit to win it at 4/6.

*All prices subject to fluctuation. Make sure to check for up to date prices. 

 Don't have a account? Click here for T&Cs of membership



Add new comment