Rugby World Cup

Social Sharing: 

2007_Rugby_World_Cup_FinalThe Rugby World Cup is contested every four years by the world's leading rugby nations. First held in 1987, the Rugby World Cup has become one of the world's largest sporting events and is watched by hundreds of millions of people the world over.

The tournament has been held six times so far, and there are two countries that have won the Rugby World Cup more than once. Australia won the Rugby World Cup in 1991 and 1999, and they also finished as runner-up behind England in 2003, while South Africa won the event in 1995 and 2007. Apart from Australia, England are the only other team to feature in three finals, having been beaten in to second in 1991 and 2007.

The traditional powers of the world rugby have dominated both the individual finals and the staging of the Rugby World Cup since the inception of the tournament, but the organisers are trying to widen the appeal of rugby union in the longer term. The 2011 Rugby World Cup will be held in New Zealand, then in 2015 in England, but in 2019 the tournament is set to break new ground by being held in Japan.