The Australian Open

Social Sharing: 

roger federer australian openThe Australian Open is the first Grand Slam tournament to take place each year. Held annually in Melbourne in January, the Australian Open was first staged in 1905 and was played on grass until 1987, following which a synthetic surface was introduced. A synthetic surface has been used ever since.

The arena in which the Australian Open is played is named after the last winner of the Grand Slam of tennis tournaments, Rod Laver. The legendary Australian is the last man to win the Grand Slam (Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open in the same calendar year), a feat he actually achieved twice, firstly in 1962 then in 1969.

Another Australian holds the record for the most wins by a man at the Australian Open. Roy Emerson won the title six times during the 1960's, though he played in the pre-Open era when tennis players had to be amateur to compete in the Grand Slam events. Since 1969, the beginning of the Open era, the record for most male wins at the Australian Open is held jointly by Andre Agassi and Roger Federer with four apiece. As for women, in the pre-Open era Margaret Court won the title seven times but since 1969 the winning-most women's singles title holder is Serena Williams with five.